

CTA • NEA

April 29, 2015

14/15 – 9

Message from the President

Over the past few weeks, I have fielded a number of concerns about the scheduling of Spring Break this year. I want to clarify that SDTA leadership bargained the calendar based on the input we received on the calendar survey that you filled out. Hearing your concerns last year, the survey was more explicit with the options for scheduling vacation and as a result the 2015-16 and 2016-17 calendars reflect an earlier break. Both calendars are available on the District's website for planning purposes.

SDTA works best when we work together and we represent you best when we know what you need. At times, this takes the form of formal surveys or meetings, but please do not hesitate to seek out your site reps or officers to ask questions and give feedback at any time.

-Edith Salvatore

SDTA WELCOMES NEW REPS

Before Spring Break, SDTA conducted elections for officers and site representatives. The current executive officers, Edith Salvatore (President), Tania Kranzler (Vice President), Cary Milia (Secretary), and Javier Galaviz (Treasurer) were re-elected, as were site representatives Joseph Hill and Hai Nguyen (Carlmont), Tim Bowler (M-A), Belén Álvarez-Iglesias (Sequoia), Diana House (Woodside), and Mike Martin (Redwood).

SDTA is very excited to welcome new representatives at nearly every site. Former representative Maureen Svenson is returning to her SDTA role at Redwood and Carlmont welcomes music teacher Genevieve Tep. M-A elected math teacher Manuel Delgado and wrote-in their support for special educator Mike Molieri. At Sequoia, science teacher Octavio Rodriguez and English teacher Jasmine Schimek stepped up to represent their colleagues and Woodside is pleased to

add English teacher **Lexie Pretto** and math teacher **Felicia Yang** to their representation.

We would like to thank Maddie Fox, Nancy Day, Jonathan Hoffman, Sue Rhodehouse, and Tony Mueller for their commitment to SDTA and we wish them the best and are pleased that **Dylan Shelley** (Sequoia) will continue on the Bargaining Team.

NEGOTIATIONS UPDATE

SDTA had its first bargaining session with the District on Monday, April 27. Last year, we settled a 2-year contract, but left open the issues of salary and benefits in the second year. Each side was also able to open one additional article of the contract. SDTA has proposed changes in the Class Size article, as was discussed in the last issue of the Hotline. The District proposed changes to Leaves that include some alterations to the purposes and timelines for requests for sabbatical leaves and unpaid leaves of absence.

Bargaining re-convenes on May 20. Members should look for a survey in the coming week to help the Bargaining Team assess priorities as discussions move forward.

LEGAL RIGHTS WORKSHOP

SDTA is co-sponsoring a workshop that will outline members' legal rights in a variety of situations. Too often, educators end up in uncomfortable situations simply because they didn't know they had the right to object or ask for help. If you've ever felt this way – or if you're just wondering what your rights are as a public school teacher and union member, please consider attending. The workshop will take place from 4-6pm on Thursday, May 14 at CTA Headquarters in Burlingame. More information is available on the back of this Hotline.

Join our Facebook Group for Updates http://www.facebook.com/groups/MySDTA

Your SDTA Site Reps:

Carlmont	Menlo-Atherton	Sequoia	Woodside	Redwood
Katya Burton	Tim Bowler*	Belén Álvarez-Iglesias	Adele Alvarez	Javier Galaviz
Connie Dominguez	Nancy Day	Debolina Dutta	Rick DeFrancesco	Mike Martin
Maddie Fox	Karina Escobar-Weaver	Jonathan Hoffman	Greg Gruszynski*	Maureen Svenson**
Cary Milia*	Tania Kranzler*	Guadalupe Navarrete	Diana House	District Office
Hai Nguyen	Patrick Maier	Edith Salvatore*	Tony Mueller	Devon Mullane
Carolyn Wade*	Liane Strub	Dylan Shelley*	Sue Rhodehouse	EPAA
Kelly Redmon	Manuel Delgado**	Kate Sheehan	Marian Welch	Tamesha Wise
(communications)	Mike Molieri**	Octavio Rodriguez**	Lexie Pretto**	*bargaining team
Genevieve Tep**		Jasmine Schimek**	Felicia Yang**	**15-17 representative